The Southpaw

General Training Videos, MMA Training, Striking and Grappling Discussions!

Postby xoMatthieuxo » Jun 1. 2009, 23:36

stayinlow wrote:
xoMatthieuxo wrote:
Gogh wrote:i think its in general "tougher" to fight a lefty because most people are right handed and more than likely you train with more right handed people than you do left handed ppl

this holds true for a lot of sports. take tennis for example. most tennis players are right handed so when you serve the ball it spins a certain way. more than likely youve played more right handed players and are more use to seeing the ball spin that way instead of the lefty way. even ground strokes will spin slightly different depending on your left or right handedness

in professional bowling the right side of the lanes will wear out quicker than the left b'c there are usually more right handed bowlers on a single lane. im not a bowling expert ((i just heard this fact while i was surfing the tv lol)) but the people announcing the team bowling match said that the lefty bowler would have a slight advantage because of this

in baseball there is a slight advantage for the pitcher if you are the same hand as the batter and a slight disadvantage if youre the opposite

cant think of one for football or basketball but im sure they exist somewhere

in mma demian maia is left handed and it supposedly confuses a lot of people on the ground because left and right handed ppl tend to roll certain ways

/ramble off
Just because you are fight "southpaw" does'nt mean you are left handed!?... If you are right handed it puts your right that much closer to target? Thats just one example

As a rule though, if someone fights primarily/only in a southpaw stance they will be left handed
That's entirely absurd!!! I'm not being rude either!

xoMatthieuxo
FEATHERW. CHAMP
FEATHERW. CHAMP

Postby xoMatthieuxo » Jun 1. 2009, 23:38

timebomb wrote:strait right hand. all day all night.
Yeah and that counter is straight left all day!